Are We There Yet? In the Land Between

“Hey, I thought you left already. Why are you still here?” It is the question that will pour salt into the already gaping wound of any hopeful heart when they have watched many a calendar page flip by and still have not stepped aboard the plane to begin life overseas. The shame hits me like a punch in the face. “Why am I here? What’s wrong with me? I’m horrible at this. Am I doing something wrong?”

ImageSoon after we became appointees, our small group did a study based on the book by Jeff Manion called The Land Between, which is a metaphor for a time of transition or a “between” time. On center stage is the story of the Israelites and their journey from Egypt to the promised land as described in Numbers 11. It is the story of Moses crying out to God when the Israelites are complaining about eating nothing but manna in the desert for two years.

At the time we did this study, we were just starting our journey toward moving overseas. We were pumped and energetic, full of optimism and excitement for what we were about to do.  I never realized how the Biblical lessons Manion points out in his book were about to play out in my life and how I would be turning to God over and over again in my own version of the Land Between.

As we pass through the Land Between, it is critical to recognize that not simply the hardship, but also our reaction to the hardship, is forming us. With each discomfort we experience, our response both reveal the person we are and set the trajectory for the person we are becoming (p.41).

Over these last years, I have shared in Moses’ cry, “This burden is too heavy for me!” I have been a repeat offender complaining with the Israelites time and again about my difficulties despite God’s continued provision. I have heard God scolding me like he scolded Moses in times of doubt, “Is my arm too short?” I have experienced his discipline learning patience, humility, and grace all while acquiring trust. Trust is not always what it appears to be. To trust, it is not simply enough that we believe but that we follow.

There is a peace in following and trusting. My daughter is the best example of this. She trusts me wholeheartedly. She doesn’t worry about whether her parents will be there when she wakes up or if they will feed her when she is hungry. She just knows it’s going to happen and goes on with her carefree day. God wants us to be that child and to live in the spirit of trust. He wants our prayers to go from cries of desperation to ones of thankfulness and worship. He wants us to live in his peace.

The climate of the Land Between can be so harsh that neutrality is not an option. The conditions have a way of either drawing us toward God or driving us away from him. While the desert is the ideal climate for transformational growth, it is also the place where faith can shrivel and die. Refuse to cave in to a pattern of complaint. A spirit of complaint is lethal to the trust that God intends to grow. As you journey through the Land Between, remember that God desires your trust more than anything else. The question he will ask repeatedly is the same question he asked Abraham, Joseph, and Moses: Will you trust me? (p. 193).

At some point, you will find yourself in the Land Between. Here is not there or where you want to be, and life has somehow turned into something you did not expect. You just can’t seem to find a way out. Remember that God sees you and is reaching out offering for you to trust him and experience his peace. This doesn’t mean a quick end to your waiting or to your pain. It doesn’t mean that a solution to your problem is right around the corner, but it does mean that the journey will be one of growth and redemption, a journey where you are not alone.

 

One thought on “Are We There Yet? In the Land Between

Add yours

  1. Thanks, Beth, for your honesty and for this recommendation. I wish I could say that I learn while on the mountain tops, but it is all too true that our greatest learning happens during these hard times — and waiting is one of the hardest for me! Keep leaning on Him and even resting in Him! I’m working on that lesson right now — again! Linda

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑